Three tier Covid restrictions system announced by PM

Three tier Covid restrictions system announced by PM

Boris Johnson has addressed both Parliament and the nation today as he’s outlined his latest measures in a bid to simplify and standardize the rules regarding the Coronavirus restrictions implemented in England.

The cases of coronavirus has quadrupled in the past four weeks, and the Prime Minister wants to do all he can to protect vital services in the fight against the virus.

The three tier system is outlined below:

  • The medium level, which will cover most of the country, consists of current national measures – including the rule of six and the 10pm curfew on bars and hospitality.
  • The high level, aims to reduce household-to-household transmission by preventing all mixing between different households or support bubbles, indoors. Most areas already subject to local restrictions will automatically move into the high alert level. The rule of six still applies outdoors.
  • Areas in the very high level will see social mixing prohibited indoors and in private gardens. The pubs and bars will be closed in those areas.

These are the latest measures the Government will introduce to England in a bid to curb the rise in coronavirus cases, and will be reviewed every four weeks.

The website will be updated shortly to enable people to find out what tier their area falls into.


Want to have your say? Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read more stories

Join nearly 3,000 other family practitioners - Check back daily for all the latest news, views, insights and best practice and sign up to our e-newsletter to receive our weekly round up every Thursday morning. 

You’ll receive the latest updates, analysis, and best practice straight to your inbox.